What is Historic Preservation?

In Wilson, there are five National Register Historic Districts:  Old Wilson, West Nash, Broad-Kenan, East Wilson, and the Central Business/Tobacco Warehouse districts.  Old Wilson, West Nash and Broad-Kenan have also been designated as local historic districts, each of which follow the same boundaries as that of their respective National Register district.  Although most of the landmark structures in Wilson are located within the boundaries of an historic district, some are outside of established districts.  In addition, six landmark structures have also been listed individually on the National Register.  They are: Branch Bank, the Cherry Hotel, the General Joshua Barnes House, the Moses Rountree House, the Davis-Whitehead-Harriss House and the Wilson County Courthouse.